Over the past few months I have been wondering on what God is wanting me to do.

In two previous posts “An All Nighter to Remember (or not)” and “You’re Not Cut Out for this I talk about some of those thoughts that have been running through my mind and try to relate them to two different passages in Matthew.

I want to revisit one of them.

Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled.

Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.”

Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. “Could you men not keep watch with me for one hour?” he asked Peter. “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”

He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”

When he came back, he again found them sleeping, because their eyes were heavy. So he left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing.

Then he returned to the disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and resting? Look, the hour is near, and the Son of Man is betrayed into the hands of sinners. Rise, let us go! Here comes my betrayer!”

—Matthew 26:36-46 (bold mine)

I want to focus this time on the words that Jesus says to Peter. “The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”

I have been without a job for about 9 months now. and the whole time I have been trying to figure out what God has for me. I feel like Peter. Willing to go to the end for Jesus, but too scared to see what that might entail.

Like I’ve said before this is how Satan wants us. Satan is the king of this world and will do anything he can to have his way. Our bodies are sinful and have no idea what it is like to live in Christ’s new bodies. Our bodies give us pain, strife, worry, baggage and everything in between. Satan does this to ,hopefully, keep us enslaved to the world and thus him.

What would happen if our bodies embraced what our spirits are trying to tell us? What if our bodies were as willing as our spirits to do the will of God?

Would there be less violence? less evil? Would Satan have a harder time trying to control us?

Would there be more compassion, more love for those who are different from us? Where would the love of God be taken and to what heights?

No one can know the answer to these questions. Satan still has the foothold here on Earth. Satan wants us to feel alone and like we are the only ones dealing with our situation.

Let me tell you something. YOU ARE NEVER ALONE! There is always someone going through something similar to what you are.

The body does not have to be weak. After Easter, Peter becomes one of the greatest leaders of the early church. Even his shadow had healing powers. His body became as strong as his spirit, which tells me that we can strengthen our bodies to do the will of the Father. Be used by Him and impact the world for the better.

Pray with me.

Our Father, help us for our spirits are willing, but our bodies are weak. Lead us as we strengthen our bodies to do your will. Guide us in the way of salvation. Create in us a new heart, free of the strife of this world willing to do your will in any situation that may come in our way. Amen.

Leave a Reply

