The All-Nighter to Remember (or not)

Okay I admit, I have never pulled an all-nighter. I may have come close, but not with out some sort of sleep along the way.There were some close calls with homework assignments in college, but I at least got a power nap.  I attempted during PRIME with my Youth group, but found myself with the classic tired head bobbing. So glad I wasn’t driving.

There were some almost all-nighters I would rather forget. Like parts of the curriculum writing class or Biblical Interpretations assignments that may or may not have gotten done. However I’m sure what happens in the following passage is only the start of a very long night that they may have wanted to forget

Then Jesus went with his disciples to a place called Gethsemane, and he said to them, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” He took Peter and the two sons of Zebedee along with him, and he began to be sorrowful and troubled.

Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.”

Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

Then he returned to his disciples and found them sleeping. “Could you men not keep watch with me for one hour?” he asked Peter. “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak.”

He went away a second time and prayed, “My Father, if it is not possible for this cup to be taken away unless I drink it, may your will be done.”

When he came back, he again found them sleeping, because their eyes were heavy. So he left them and went away once more and prayed the third time, saying the same thing.

Then he returned to the disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and resting? Look, the hour is near, and the Son of Man is betrayed into the hands of sinners. Rise, let us go! Here comes my betrayer!”

—Matthew 26:36-46

It had already been a long day, So much so that the disciples could hardly keep their eyes open. Like me many could not  last through this all nighter without some form of sleep.

Peter earlier in the evening stated that he was with Christ until the death only to be told that would deny Christ three times.before the night was over.

In Christ’s words  Peter’s spirit was willing to go til the death, but his physical body would not go through with it due to fear.

After a few times Jesus comes back and just lets them sleep, yet wakes them up when the time has come for the betrayal.

Jesus takes the last watch of the night, and woke them up when there was some sort of trouble.

How many times do we come across something that seems spiritually like a good idea at the time, but when it comes to it our physical bodies back out?

Like the last post we are in a continual spiritual battle with the forces of evil. When Christ gives us a task to do, Satan will do everything in his power to take us down. Put  obstacles in our way, plant thoughts in our heads, Anything imaginable.

I could end this post the same as the last with the Star Wars Parody, but that would be redundant. Instead I want to leave you with the title song off Mathew West’s newest CD “Into the Light” Come to the Light. He will give you the rest that you need to make it through the night no matter how much you want to forget it.

One thought on “The All-Nighter to Remember (or not)

Leave a Reply

