I’m going to embarrass my brother a little.

I was in college and came home for one of the many breaks. Before I came home my brother had bestowed on me some information that he was secretly dating someone. Now in my house at the time mom’s rule was that “no one could date until they were 40” or so she said. Now I had told my brother, whose name is Mitch by the way, that keeping secrets from our parents was not going to end well. Since I had a little time before Mitch got home I told Mom and Dad about it, but to keep it under wraps until he got the courage to tell them. Mom immediately wanted to know who it was. I didn’t want to give a name but Mom went and got the year book and figured out by my reactions. (I can keep a secret, but am a horrible liar). And so that night at supper Mitch said something that I took the wrong way and accidentally called him out on the issue. Which led to Mitch finding out that Mom and Dad knew already.

Now imagine how Judas felt sitting around the table of the Last Supper. He was the only one to know that he was going to betray Jesus later that night. Yet Jesus comes right out and states it to everyone. However, Jesus gives no names, unlike me. Check it out below.

After he had said this, Jesus was troubled in spirit and testified, “I tell you the truth, one of you is going to betray me.”

His disciples stared at one another, at a loss to know which of them he meant. One of them, the disciple whom Jesus loved, was reclining next to him. Simon Peter motioned to this disciple and said, “Ask him which one he means.”

Leaning back against Jesus, he asked him, “Lord, who is it?”

Jesus answered, “It is the one to whom I will give this piece of bread when I have dipped it in the dish.” Then, dipping the piece of bread, he gave it to Judas Iscariot, son of Simon. As soon as Judas took the bread, Satan entered into him.

“What you are about to do, do quickly,” Jesus told him, but no one at the meal understood why Jesus said this to him. Since Judas had charge of the money, some thought Jesus was telling him to buy what was needed for the Feast, or to give something to the poor. As soon as Judas had taken the bread, he went out. And it was night.

—John 13:21-30

Now no one saw who the bread was given to. They all thought Judas was going out to take care of some unfinished financial business. Everyone asked who it was by the end of the night and would find out later in the Garden.

Sometimes I wonder why we keep secrets. They just add to the stress of this life. Now don’t get me wrong surprises are good kinds of secrets to keep. Yet there is another kind of secret that weighs down on our lives.

Those are kept in fear, like my brother’s secret dating. Sometimes those need to come out in the open. Shed a little light on the matter. There are others out there going through the same things. There are people out there who can help with your fears. Satan wants to keep us in the dark, to make us feel like we are the only ones with our situations.

There’s a not so famous parody of Star Wars that states “Come to the Dark Side, We have cookies.”

My rebuttal: “Come to the Light Side, We have Jesus.”

3 thoughts on “The Secret that’s Not so Secret

Leave a Reply

