In Their Footsteps: Lamech

Woe is me! What was I thinking?

I was walking along the path leading from Enoch out to the pastures to my son, Jabal who is out there living in tents with the herds. Out of nowhere a young man came attacking and managed to injure me.

I don’t know what came over me. One minute he was there and the next he was dead where he stood, and blood was on my knife.

How will I face Yahweh who cast my ancestor Cain out of his presence for doing the exact same thing to Abel? If Cain was avenged 7 times, may I be avenged 77 times..

These are the things I must think about as I sit around the fire tonight listening to the sounds that my son Jubul, magically wills to come from the reeds that he has found down by the streams.

We have heard that Eve has had a son and that they have started to call on the name of Yahweh to help them. It seems mad to do so. He cast us out of his presence when we left the garden. But who knows it might make life a little more bearable out here.

Leave a Reply

