Why did I take a bite of that fruit?

Why did I listen to that snake?

I mean up until that point, there really was no point in even approaching those trees. The presence gave off this vibe that no one was to go near those trees.

Yet the snake sounded so convincing. He had been pestering me for days trying to get me to just walk up to the tree. He countered everything that the presence had told us about. We wouldn’t die from the fruit, just become more like the presence, knowing what was wrong and right. That is what he said.

I finally gave in. I walked up to the tree and was surprised to find that the fruit looked better than anything I had seen in the garden. I wanted to see if it tasted as good as it looked, and I was not disappointed. It tasted unlike anything I had ever tasted in my entire life. I had to share this with Adam.

I rushed up to him, handed him the fruit and told him to try it. He did, and our world was never the same afterwards.

I suddenly felt exposed; the wind no longer felt the same against my skin. I felt I needed to hide, to get as far away from Adam as I could. What was worse I could feel the presence coming closer, getting stronger as it sometimes did when it wanted to speak with us.

I heard it speak wondering where we were. Eventually, Adam and I went down to the river to meet with the presence. He asked us what we had done. Adam tried to blame me for it. I didn’t want to get in trouble for it so I accused the snake. After all, it was he who started it.

The presence was not happy with what we had done. All three of us suffered greatly for our actions.

The snake would no longer be able to walk on its legs, and became the most hated animal of all the animals. From there on out there has always be a mutual hatred between us and the snake.

My punishment was that I would no longer have a say in what happened around our home, but I was to serve my husband. In addition, childbearing would become more painful. It was already painful enough, I couldn’t imagine any more pain to the process.

Adam, I think, suffered the worst. The plants would no longer yield fruit within the garden for him. He would have to work to put food on our table, and the ground would not be so kind.

What is worse is that we were then forced to leave the garden. To go into the great unknown. The world outside of our garden.

From that point on we noticed a change in how the plants and animals treated us. No longer was the lion a kind and loving creature, but a savage beast. The elephant no longer allowed us on his back, but would charge us if we got to close. Ivy that we had used as food now gave us rashes on our skin if we rubbed against it. We now had to examine fruit to make sure that there were no worms inside of it.

I don’t know what is in store for my family. How we will survive in this new world that is unlike anything we have ever seen. Will the presence be with us out here since he blocked the way to get in?

Leave a Reply

