Okay this may be a little different than other posts I have done, but I came across a Freshly Pressed a few months ago that asked if you could only choose 8 books what would they be. The other catch is that multi-volume books don’t count. For that post go here.

My list would be as follows.

1. The Bible, for those of you who know/follow me this would be a no brainier

2. Prince Caspian, C. S. Lewis, If I could I would take all 7 Chronicles as one bound book, but unfortunately the rules state I must choose.

3. Night. Elie Wiesel.

4. The Book Thief, Markus Zusak

Okay 3 and 4 made the list due to the fact that they tell opposite sides of the same event, one from the Jewish side, the other the German side, respectfully.

5. The Centurion’s Wife, Davis Bunn and Janette Oke. I have read books by both authors, but this one they wrote together gives the Roman’s side of the events following the events of Christ’s Resurrection. While it may be fictional It opened my eyes to a new perspective I hadn’t thought of before.

6. The Hobbit, J. R. R. Tolkien. While the Lord of the Rings may be a bit more exciting The Hobbit is one volume that does not spread itself out and still has all the adventure.

7. Spiritual Disciplines Handbook; Practices that Transform Us Adele Ahlberg Calhoun. While this may not have a story, I have found it extremely useful in my walk with Christ and would not want to be without this resource.

8. Holes. Louis Sachar. Really awesome story of mistaken identity and intertwined family history.

 

Now I know that some of these are kids literature, but I feel that if you go back and read them again, you catch something you missed the last time. Others that could be interchanged with some of these would be Harry Potter books, Any book in the House of Winslow series by Gilbert Morris, Hoot by Carl Hiaasen and countless others depending on the day and mood I would be in.

How about you? What books would you choose?

 

One thought on “Save only 8 books, leave the rest behind

  1. 1. New Oxford Annotated Bible.
    2. Telling the Truth by Frederich Beuchner
    3. Love Wins (Steven Sproul still has my copy!) by Rob Bell
    4. The Ragamuffin Gospel by Brennan Manning
    5. What’s So Amazing About Grace by Philip Yancey
    6. Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell
    7. A Generous Orthodoxy by Brian McClaren
    8. Surprised by Hope by N.T. Wright

    Huh. There were just exactly that many. How weird is that?

    If I could add a ninth, it would be my Book of Common Prayer, though I haven’t used it much lately.
    Jesus for President would be the tenth. But there are only supposed to be eight, so I would leave those two. But if I could have two more, they would be those.

Leave a Reply

