My senior year in High School, my band director made the decision to follow her husband’s job offering in another state and thus would no longer be able to teach at our school. The unfortunate timing set her departure right before Christmas break. Thus the Christmas concert would be her last in our small town.

The selection of band music for that concert consisted of the director’s favorites of the  previous seasons . This was the same director that I wrote about in an earlier post. One of the songs she pulled was a song that I had played my freshman year and hated. I hated it for the sole reason that it contained a solo on my part and I could never get it quite right Then again I always had a solo (I was the only one low bras for a while), but I didn’t stick out as much with everyone else playing. The song: In the Bleak Midwinter arranged by Robert W. Smith.

Here is the song, the only difference when My band played it we replaced the french horn with an alto sax. I played the baritone part which comes in as the third member of the trio starting at about 1:42.

It wasn’t until earlier this month that I found the words in a really old hymnal. They go like this:

In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan, earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone; snow had fallen, snow on snow, snow on snow, in the bleak midwinter, long ago.

Our God, heaven cannot hold him, nor earth sustain; heaven and earth shall flee away when he comes to reign. In the bleak midwinter a stable place sufficed the Lord God Almighty, Jesus Christ.

Angels and archangels may have gathered there, cherubim and seraphim thronged the air; but his mother only, in her maiden bliss, worshiped the beloved with a kiss.

What can I give him, poor as I am? If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb; if I were a Wise Man, I would do my part; yet what I can I give him: give my heart.

That last verse really got to me, being the poor college grad that I am. Now that I look at it it really has become the song of the season this year for me. I have been struggling with the thought of not being able to give gifts to my family. Then I stumbled on Matthew 6 in my nightly Bible reading. Especially verse 34. which goes like this:

34 “So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

The passage before this is the well known passage about worry and how we are not to since God will take care of us.

All I can do is give my all to God, every part of my life. God has a plan for me, I may not know what it is, but I give my heart to him. No matter how bleak this winter may get.

Merry Christmas and enjoy

One thought on “A Once Disliked Hynm

Leave a Reply

