Taking It Into My Own Hands

One of the many things to go wrong during PRIME was that my personal computer decided to die. Instead of having it worked on down there, I decided to wait until I got back on Huntington University campus and have Tech Services take a look at it for free. I get it back being told there was something minor and the problem had been “fixed.” A week later my computer tells me that my hard drive is faulty and I need to get a new one before I turn my computer back on. I get the files that I need off of it and turn it off. I ordered the hard drive and waited for it to come.

The day it came in the mail, I was jumping up and down in anticipation. By now it had been almost a year since the computer worked properly and I very much wanted to get back to itunes and the funky Jesus music that I had on the account. I had put a bunch of the cds I had on this account and being at college had no access to said cds. By this time it had been almost a year since I had access to any of it.

I open the package, put the new drive into the computer and turn it on. Only to get this message:

Internal Hard Drive Not Found

Not Found? I had just put it in there! What do you mean not found? Instantly my joy turned sour and I realized that It may be awhile before I got back to my files and music that I so loved.

A times I feel that God has a sense of humor. I remember praying before I went on PRIME for patience. Now I know what this is like. After all this time God is trying to tell me to wait upon Him. When I try to take things into my own hands, God shows me that he has another plan and takes me in a whole new direction.

I am beginning to see how Abraham must have felt waiting on Isaac to be born. Abraham waited 25 years for the promise to be fulfilled!! During which time He had another child with his servant, trying to take matters into his own hands. That did not turn out so well. God still gave a child to Sarah and the rest is history.

Abraham goes down in the books as one of the faith warriors of the Bible in Hebrews 11. A chapter that some have come to call the Faith Hall of Fame. He not only had to wait 25 years for a promised child, he almost had to sacrifice that promise by killing his son. God came through in both cases first by the birth of Isaac then sending a goat stuck in a bush to be the replacement sacrifice.

As I go back and try to get my computer back up and running, I am finding just how attached I was to it. I need the faith that only God can give in order to rely on Him in my every day life. I need to check my faith and plug in to what God has for me each day. If I don’t I may end up like my hard drive giving the message

Internal Faith Not Found

For more on the Faith Hall of Fame go here.

Leave a Reply

